Ted Talks: Musicians

Let me preface this post by saying, if you have never been to Ted.com, what the hell are you doing here?  Go, now!  Ted is my favorite website on all of the internet, my home page when I open my browser, and there’s good reason for it.  Ted is nothing but videos of brilliant, passionate people talking about the things they love, be it science, education, research, music or literature.  If you’re up for it, here is a goal for you for the next week (I’m going to do it too): start your days off by watching just one video from Ted.  That’s it.  You will get smarter, you’ll become more cultured, more educated, and more entertained.

So, here in this post, I’ve decided to gather videos of many of my favorite ted musicians, and in future posts, I will gather a few of my favorite artists and writers, so be sure to check back for that.  Hope you enjoy yourself.

Music:

First we have Jake Shimabukuro who tries to convince us that “what the world needs now is ukulele” by playing Bohemian Rhapsody.

http://ted.com/talks/view/id/1063

Next we have one of my favorite live musicians, Andrew Bird.  I mention live, because he uses a loop machine, which is fascinating to watch when used well by a talented musician, which he is, and he does.  Here we have three live songs and stories around them.  And believe me when I say, watching him run around stage picking up different instruments and whistling is supremely entertaining.

Now we are sliding closer to story telling as we have Robert Gupta, professional violinist and eloquent speaker.  He speaks of music as medicine, which it most certainly is.  He speaks of music as the catalyst which restores sanity, particularly the paranoid schizophrenic “charming, rugged, homeless” Nathanial Anthony Airs.

Now, there are many more musicians on Ted.com, most of them excellent.  If you find one you particularly like, be sure to share the link in the comments section below.  And, discussion on music ensue in 3,2,1….

TTFN

2 Comments

Filed under Free Education, Free Stuff, Music, Stories

2 responses to “Ted Talks: Musicians

  1. Pingback: Ted Talks: Writers | Away and Away

  2. Pingback: Yale – Free Online Video Courses | Away and Away

Leave a Reply

