Trampled By Turtles – Folk Metal (?)

S.C. Barrus, S. Cody Barrus, Away and AwayI met with a good buddy of mine, Chris Slater, the other day.  He just turned 21, so we hopped around town checking out some of the local bars, having an all around good time.  Somewhere in all this, Chris brings up the fact that I’ve posted folk music on my site, that he plays banjo and I play guitar, a new semi talented band perhaps?  Perhaps.

Either way, we both love folk for some of the same reasons.  Modern music can be so produced now a days that it feels put together by a machine, almost in human.  Today’s counter culture has addressed this with the folk genre, a genre fraught with little production values but lots of soul.

Enter Trampled By Turtles, a band my brother Jason showed to me about a month or two ago.  Their style ranges from mandolin led blue grass, to what I like to call folk metal, the opitomy of which is there song “Wait so Long”, the song that got me into them in the first place.

Trampled by Turtles are playing a 21+ show at the Tractor in Seattle on 5/12/11.  I plan on going, and you, whoever you are, should come with me.  If you buy me a ticket in the next week I’ll get you a free copy of my all elusive book (you can’t buy it online).  If you buy me a drink at the show, I’ll give you a free pat on the back.

If you like Trampled by Turtles, be sure to check out these posts: Old Crow Medicine Show, Seasick Steve: Side of the Road Blues, Nicholas Ridout – The Pike Place Busker, and watch the videos of Valerie Lopez and Jason Barrus on my Events Page.

Farewell from S.C.B.

Leave a comment

Filed under Music

Leave a Reply

